The Hunger Games

Well….as I said if you read the about me section of my blog, my absolute favorite books of ALL TIME are The Hunger Games series!!  These are the best books ever!  If you have not read these books are seriously missing out.  There are 3 books to The Hunger Games series.  The first is Hunger Games, second is Catching Fire, and the third is Mockingjay, written by Suzanne Collins.  Even if you are not a reader (which I totally understand what that’s like because I used to hate reading), you should TOTALLY read these books.  They are very well written, and I think they have a little bit of every kind of genre that a person can enjoy.  It is full of action, romance, a little mystery, fantasy/sci-fi, I mean these books have got it all!  Everyone I have talked to says they were hooked, and they couldn’t put it down.  I was up til 2 or 3 in the morning reading these books, and usually when a book is pretty good I still fall asleep, so that says something.  One of the reasons I really enjoy this book is because it is an author’s theory of what the world might be like in the future.  These kind of books really interest me.  I think it is cool to read different views of what the world could be like years from now.  In this book the U.S. as we know today has been destroyed from disaster and war.  The people who are left split North America into 13 districts, and they are ruled by what is known as the Capital.  In the earlier years before the book took place District 13 rebelled, and they were destroyed so now only 12 remain.  Now to keep the people in their place, and discourage them from rebelling again, the Capital hosts something each year called the Hunger Games.  Every year one teenage boy and girl from each district has their name drawn from a lottery, and they have to compete in the Hunger Games.  The game is pretty much using your strength and skill to kill everyone else, and then you win.  The main character’s name is Katniss Everdeen, a young girl from district 12, and the book tells her story and relationship with these games.  This book is so full of action and suspense, and it has done so well they are finally making it into a motion picture!  I am so excited, and cannot wait to see it.  I hope the movie will do really well.  Actress Jennifer Lawrence will be playing Katniss, along with Josh Hutcherson as Peeta and Liam Hemsworth as Gale (two of the other main characters).  The movie will be coming out March 23, 2012, and it should be a big hit.  Who knows it might even do better than Twilight, which I hope it does because it is far better.  So….this is an amazing book, and everyone should read it!!!  I promise that you will not be disappointed.

Here is a little sneak peek of what is to come :]

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love The Hunger Games and I am so excited for the movies! I think they will be bigger than the Twighlight movies.

Leave a Reply

