Monthly Archives: November 2011

Among the Hidden

So, my absolute most favorite author is Margaret Peterson Haddix.  I have read pretty much every one of her books, give or take a few, and they are SO good!  She is an amazing author.  Her books are always exciting and full of mystery and suspense.  She has written many books: The Shadow Children Series, The Missing Series, Running out of Time, Turnabout, House on the Gulf, and many more.  Her newest book just came out two days ago called The Always War, and I can’t wait to read it.

For this blog post though, I will be talking about the book Among the Hidden, which is the first book in the Shadow Children Series.  This series is a young adult series (which make sense cuz she writes mostly YA books), which might not appeal to some people because that means it is for teenagers, but I really recommend these books.  I started reading her books when I was in the 5th grade, and ever since, no matter how old I am, I will continue to read her books.

Among the Hidden is a story about a boy named Luke Garner, who has spent most of his life being hidden although he doesn’t know why.  The U.S. has recently passed a law that outlaws more than two children (sound a little familiar….China….but don’t worry it doesn’t really turn out the same as China).  Luke, who is their 3rd child, cannot have friends, watch TV, or even eat dinner with his family for fear of being seen through the window, and if his family is caught  by the Population Police, they will go to jail.  As Luke gets older, he begins to notice that he is not the same as his brothers Mark and Matthew.   Later in the book, wealthy people start moving into the area and building big homes.  One day, Luke is looking out his window, and he thinks he sees a girl in the house next door where he knows they already have two boys.  He sneaks out to investigate and meets Jen.  She is also a 3rd child and lives her life hidden as well, and her father is even a member of the Population Police.  The two become friends, and Luke discovers there are many 3rd children.  They call themselves the Shadow Children, and they talk in chat rooms set up by Jen.  They eventually all decide to have a rally to fight for their rights.  Luke must now decide to join the fight and risk be killed, or to stay safely hidden and never become free.

This is a really interesting book, and that is just the beginning of the story!  The series has 7 books all together, and they create an amazing story of what happens to Luke and other Shadow Children.  I would highly recommend reading these books, if they sound interesting to you.  I do not think you will be disappointed.

All of the books in the series are:

  • Among the Hidden
  • Among the Imposters
  • Among the Betrayed
  • Among the Barons
  • Among the Brave
  • Among the Enemy
  • Among the Free

These are parts of the cover pictures from all the books.

I hope you decide to read them and enjoy!

P.S. I think it would be sweet if they made these books into movies.  They would be really good I think :]